Audi, New Tool in the Vamp Slayer’s Arsenal?

Did you catch the 2012 Super Bowl on Sunday?  I did, but here in Okinawa we don’t get the commercials, which can sometimes be the best part of the game.  Thankfully, the internet has made it easy to catch-up on all the commercials I missed.  And, I couldn’t resist sharing Audi’s Vampire Party commercial.  In case you missed it, here it is:

So, what’d ya think?  I thought it was hilarious, in a “Dumbass!” kinda way.  That’s what makes it funny, in my opinion.  I love the two dudes at the end – the one who smiles and starts to say “Hey!” and the one who pops up behind the rock before poofin’ into non-existence.  Then, the driver … “Dumbass!” Too funny!

One blogger claims it was one of the year’s worst commercials stating “First off, it’s stupid that vampires are bursting into dust at the visage of an Audi. Secondly, a vampires-centric commercial? What is this, 2008? This would’ve been cutting edge the last time these two teams matched up, perhaps.”  I tend to disagree, especially since the vampires aren’t sparkling, but rather sport True Blood-like fangs, but ok.  You’re entitled to your opinion.  And, another stated, “As for the subject matter of the commercial, I think they tackled a pretty touchy subject with a lot of respect; the biggest murder-suicide in the history of vampires. But if what I’ve heard happens in True Blood is true for vampires, these vampires probably deserved it. And you have to make sure you hit the demographic that buys cars based on the brightness of their headlights. Good effort, overall.”  This makes me laugh, “…they tackled a pretty touchy subject with a lot of respect…”  Seriously?  That’s a bit deep don’t you think?  I, for one, can’t picture the Audi advertising group thinking, “Ok, this is a touchy subject, so we must be respectful about how we approach it.”  Can you?

This year’s commercials seemed to be auto manufacturer heavy, which is understandable I guess considering the financial state of things in the US, but there was one more commercial that made me laugh out loud.  It’s not at all para-related, but I thought I’d share it as well.  And, really, who can resist a nekked M&M shakin’ his booty to LMFAO?  Not me!

If you’d like a play-by-play of the commercials, check out the Washington Post‘s break-down here.   And, while I didn’t really care who won the Super Bowl, congrats to the New York Giants for pulling off another win.  Hopefully my Steelers will make it to the Bowl again in 2013.  🙂

About StephB

USMC wife ~ bibliophile ~ gadget addict ~ furry baby mama

Posted on February 8, 2012, in Random Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

