ZAM: All Hail the Godfather!

Like I mentioned yesterday, George A. Romero is our Godfather. He was born on 4 Feb 1940. In the late 1960’s he and nine friends formed Image Ten Productions and produced Night of the Living Dead. The day the movie, directed by the Godfather and co-written with John A. Russo, premiered was an awesome day for us, I have to say. You are free to watch the full movie at the Internet Archive and let me know what you think of it.

Now, I’m sure you know, but one of the things Godfather insisted was that we shamble along, no running allowed. I have to say that several times I got reprimanded for running off after a particular sweeeetie trying to get away. But, nooooo, that’s strictly forbidden. I always said that made us more vulnerable. I mean, come on, anyone can speed walk through a group of us and we have to what, let you pass? No fair. It was all a big tease for us, I tell ya. ‘Course, one thing it did was make y’all overconfident. You use us for target practice, run here and there quick as you can and think you beat us? Us vs. You and you think you would survive? Be sure to join us next week to find out if you would survive a Zombie Apocalypse. I have my doubts. But, you just never know if we’re really that slow or just followin’ the Godfather’s orders to appear that way.

Night of the Living Dead may be his first movie, but he’s continued to showcase us throughout his career. Maybe you’ve seen me or Suzie in one of these beauties:


The Crazies (1973) When the military attempts to contact a man-made virus that causes death and permanent insanity in those infected, as it overtakes a small Pennsylvania town. If that sounds familiar to you, it’s probably because Scott Kosar and Ray Wright remade the film in 2010, by the same name, The Crazies. Watch the trailer for the original 1973 version and you tell me, which do you like best?









Dawn of the Dead (1978) Following an ever-growing epidemic of zombies that have risen from the dead, two Philadelphia SWAT team members, a traffic reporter, and his television-executive girlfriend seek refuge in a secluded shopping mall. And, once again, Godfather chose to remake the film for you *young tasty morsels* humans with James Gunn in 2004. I have to say that you should be thanking the Godfather for these remakes. They are keeping us alive in your thoughts and dreams nightmares to help better prepare you for the time when you yourself will have to battle us or become our next meal.


Godfather is our hero! If you would like to better prepare yourself (which you should) for the coming apocalypse, I suggest you take a look at his filmography and start watching now! My stomach hasn’t stopped growling since … well, I can’t remember when, so I’m goin’ after this handsome chap. I’ll chat with you more tomorrow. Until then, happy viewing!

Posted by Shamblin’ Dave

About StephB

USMC wife ~ bibliophile ~ gadget addict ~ furry baby mama

Posted on May 10, 2011, in Features & Memes, Sci-Fi & Fantasy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

